GUMS | 2021 Team
page-template-default,page,page-id-17650,page-child,parent-pageid-15526,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1200,qode-theme-ver-9.1.3,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-,vc_responsive

2021 Team

Welcome to the GUMS 2021 Team!

Executive Team

President – Janis Fernandes –

Vice Presidents (Gold Coast) – Nicole Chen and Brendan Spinks –

Vice President (Sunshine Coast) – Hamish Hamilton –

Secretary – Ayla Tartic –

Treasurer – Adam Silbernagel –

Immediate Past President – Wadie Rassam

Clinical Advocacy Officer – Tim McErlane –

Pre-Clinical Advocacy Officer – Harley Stiebel –

AMSA Representative – Sam Norris –


Portfolio Officers

Academic Officer (GC) – Stephen Jiang –

Academic Officer (SC) – Liam Donovan-

Wellbeing Officer (GC) – Nick Ooi –

Wellbeing Officer (SC) – Sophie McQueen-

Social Officer (GC) – Isobella Campbell –

Social Officer (SC) – Kate Steele –

Social Media & Engagement Officer (GC) – Neha Athreya

Social Media & Engagement Officer (SC) – James Barton

Merchandise Officer – Amir Abar

Publications Officer – Ashraf Docrat –

Design Officer – Charles Reyes-

Sponsorship Officer – Yovan Rasiah –

Membership Benefits Officer – Tasneef Helal –

IT Officer – Lachlan Paterson –



Immediate Past Treasurer – Eric Tan


Convenors, Coordinators and Representatives

Academic Portfolio

Formative Anatomy Coordinators (GC) – Eesha Bajra, Aiden Jabur and TBA

Formative Anatomy Coordinators (SC) – James Barton and Corrina Grima

Formative OSCE Coordinators (GC) – Georgina Burke and Sonya Lee

Formative OSCE Coordinator (SC) – TBA x2

Peer Assisted Clinical Skills Coordinator (GC) – Mitali Khattar

Peer Assisted Clinical Skills Coordinator (SC) – TBA

Ward Survival Series Coordinator (GC) – Mitali Khattar

Ward Survival Series Coordinator (SC) – TBA

Lecture Review Coordinator (GC) – TBA x2

Lecture Review Coordinator (SC) – TBA x2

Peer Based Learning Coordinator (GC) – Georgina Burke and Sonya Lee

Peer Based Learning Coordinator (SC) – Corrina Grima

Academic Event Officer (GC) – Aiden Jabur


Convenors, Coordinators and Representatives (continued)

Wellbeing Portfolio

Gender Equity Officer (GC) – Claire Carkeet

Gender Equity Officer (SC) – Annie Gynther

LGBTQIA+ Officer (GC) – Melanie Friedman

LGBTQIA+ Officer (SC) – Hanh Le

Clinical Years Wellbeing Representative – Kenta Arichi


Social Portfolio

Med Ball Convenor – Dan Tran

Scrub Crawl Convenor (GC) – Neha Athreya

Scrub Crawl Convenor (SC) – James Barton

Disorientation Camp Convenor – Caitlin Rutherford-Heard

Graduation Committee – Georgina Burke

Med Revue Convenors – Sree Boddeti, Anthony Patsalou, Harry Piaggio and Yovan Rasiah

Med Revue Subcommittee (Skits/Video) – Gayathri Nair and Trent Kays

Med Revue Subcommittee (Chorus/Band) – Daniel Bok Choi and Michael Keys

Med Revue Subcommittee (Dance) – Caitlin Rutherford-Heard

Clinical Social Rep (GC) – Murray Thompson

Clinical Social Rep (SC)TBA

Preclinical Social Rep (GC) – Neha Athreya

Preclinical Social Rep (SC) – James Barton

Photographers/Videographers – TBA

HoGMS OfficerTBA


Advocacy Portfolio

Junior AMSA Rep (GC) – Alexandra Wilson

Junior AMSA Rep (SC) – Heidi Wagner

International Student Representative – Jacqueline Tan

Indigenous Student Representative – Samuel Fordham

Vampire Cup Coordinator (GC)TBA

Vampire Cup Coordinator (SC)TBA

Year 1 Advocacy Rep (GC)TBA

Year 1 Advocacy Rep (SC)TBA

Year 2 Advocacy Rep (GC) – Nick Ooi

Year 2 Advocacy Rep (SC) – Harley Stiebel

Year 3 Advocacy Rep (GC) – Andrew Turner

Year 3 Advocacy Rep (SC) – Tim McErlane

Year 4 Advocacy Rep – Grace Hocking

Year 3 Rural Rep – Kenta Arichi

Year 4 Rural Rep  – Melina Kreutz

GCUH Rep – Mitali Khattar

The Tweed Hospital Rep – Brittany Higgs

Logan Hospital Rep – Melody Tung

QEII Hospital Representative – Alexander Seeto

SCUH Representative – Gayatri Bhagwat

The following roles will be filled throughout 2021

Academic Portfolio
Academic Subcommittee

Publications  Portfolio
Publications Subcommittee

Social Portfolio
Social Subcommittee

Wellbeing Portfolio
Wellbeing Subcommittee